Eleven High School and One Junior High School Students Recognized

Members of the South Shore Rotary Club gathered this afternoon in the Bermuda Inn to recognize 11 Staten Island high school students and one student in junior high school with scholarships for reaching the highest Rotary standard, Service-Above-Self.
“We join together to celebrate those who distinguish themselves through their work to help others in our community,” said Kevin Lenning, president, South ShoreRotary Club. “These students are successful academics who earned the respect of their peers, teachers and now the leaders in our community for their efforts to pursue excellence while extending themselves to reach out to those in our community who need our help.
“Recognizing the youth in our community who inherently share our commitment to enhance their communities through their volunteer service is one of our greatest pleasures. “
Frank Cilento, South Shore Rotary past president, presented the Peter Nicotina Scholarship Award to Marissa Ackerman , St. Joseph by the Sea High School; Rosemarie Dressler, vice president, feted Oliva Tobi, McCown Expeditionary Learning School, with the John Dressler Community Scholarship Award; Jon Salmon, past president, recognized Rachel Anello , Staten Island Academy, with a Dr. Abraham Workman Award; James R. Cohen, Esq., awarded Danielle Genco, New Dorp High School, with a Dr. Abraham Workman scholarship; Mary Cibelli presented Adham Ahmed , Staten Island Technical High School , with the Richard Cibelli Scholarship Award; Eric Storberg , past president recognized Joseph Silverstein, Tottenville High School with the William Russonello Award; Bill Barillari, Esq., past president, introduced Adian O’Brien, Monsignor Farrell High School, as recipient of their Father Richard Guarnieri Award; Al Lambert, past president, awarded Daniel Bilotto, Monsignor Farrell High School, and Joseph Reitano, St. Peter’s Boys High School, with the Al Lambert Scholarship; April Cass Buono presented to the Dr. Workman Award to Miranda Mortenson, Susan Wagner High School; Brian Benevento, past president, presented Dr. Abraham Workman Award to Andrew DeSalvo, Msgr. Farrell High School; Ann Clinton, presented the Dr. William Golterman Award to Daniel Spreen, Elias Bernstein I.S. 7.
April Cass, Irene Carducci, Ann Clinton, Rosemarie Dressler, and Evelyn Kormanik served on the South Shore Rotary Club scholarship committee. Linda Herschfeld is chairwoman.